ZML Didaktik / Innovative Learning Scenarios

Debriefing the 10th Networked Learning Conference

Posted on: Mai 13, 2016

I really enjoyed this conference. There was so much food for thought! The discussions around metaphors (for more detail see the blogpost of Jenny Mackness) added to my interest into more creative learning spaces.

Many years ago I started to develop more open learning spaces based on a gender mainstreaming approach. I reflected about the use of language (and metaphors of course) and aimed to use open wording/phrasing in tasks and online communication. From my students I learned to like smileys and in the creativity MOOC of Tina Seelig 2013 I got further ideas about creating and using artefacts in learning.

Before the #nlc2016 conference I stumbled upon Nick Sousanis ideas about unflattening the world and looking for more perspectives. So I responded to his exercise to draw comics about the shape of a day. I’m not brave at drawing but I liked to create a picture about my day as for example about Monday at the Networked Learning Conference.

nlc2016

I believe that we need as many approaches as possible to deal with the complexity of today’s learning challenges. Maybe drawing comics could be one. I plan to include the option for drawing a comic into the next task for my students which I’m meeting at London at the moment. And of course I will discuss aspects of networked learning with them.

The footprints of emergence framework is another possibility of dealing with complex learning scenarios. In my blog I collected information about the footprints and different options of drawing them.

The footprint of my experience at this week’s networked learning conference in Lancaster is rather balanced one.

footprint-jp-nlc2016

My footprint is mostly in the zone of sweet emergent learning. Attending the conference was a pleasant learning experience for me. And I was challenged by all the networking experiences and by meeting so many other “minds”.

I’m looking forward to reading some of the #nlc2016 papers and surfing some slides. And it would be a real pleasure to attend #nlc2018 in Zagreb.

 

1 Response to "Debriefing the 10th Networked Learning Conference"

I think my footprint would be very similar. For me Risk and Identity would be more towards the sharp emergent zone – and Solitude and Contemplation more towards the prescribed zone. I nearly always find conferences a bit too noisy🙂

Schreibe einen Kommentar

