ZML Didaktik / Innovative Learning Scenarios

Moderating the cope14 MOOC

Posted on: März 29, 2014

On 22. April our cope14 MOOC will start with hundreds of learners – and my colleague Erika and I aim to moderate this bunch of different learners.

I believe I’m not too bad in monitoring online learning processes and I have a lot of experience caring for my online groups – but … these were rather small groups, 8 persons, 15 or 16, sometimes 30 in my teaching or training activities, sometimes around 50-60. And, yes, they wrote 1100 contributions in 3 weeks (30 social worker students) or more than 1800 contributions in 4 weeks (15 participants in my most active training course), and I really read every contribution carefully. Now I’m fantasizing how many contributions the cope14 learners will create during a day?

In some of my learning scenarios I’m monitoring the web, searching for „my“ learners‘ products on twitter, google+ or in the Moodle plattform – but I never encountered such an open exchange as we aim for in the cope14 MOOC.

The cope14 learners will hopefully be very active in writing, speaking, drawing and discussing their ideas around our topics. And they will share their questions, ideas, products

  • anywhere in the web, hopefully with a link in a comment to the cope14 website and / or
  • in their own blog (I know that some learners are already building their blogs) and / or
  • on twitter using the hashtag #cope14 and / or
  • in the facebook or the google+ community.

Until now I’m using a list with the activities of the week and the learners‘ names (20 in this example) to monitor the learning artifacts:

stricherlliste
I mark every activity of each learner with a short line. In this way I get an overview how active the learners are and who maybe needs some support. By drawing the short line in the list I get in touch with the learners, they become real persons for me. And based on this process I’m ready to react: appreciate their work, summarize or weave, ask questions, link further infos.

But … in the case of our MOOC such an approach will not work, won’t it? There will be too many learners. Nevertheless I will try … because I need a tool to get an impression of the learners and I’m not satisfied getting some statistics by a program.

So, I’m really curios how Erika and I will survive in monitoring and moderating the cope14 MOOC.

Schlagwörter: , ,

3 Antworten to "Moderating the cope14 MOOC"

Jutta this is really interesting for me, as I have a similar (albeit excel-based) approach to the small groups I moderate (<25) but find I can't do anything like this for the larger groups such as in Martin Weller's H817Open MOOC last year. This is where the tools available to the moderator can make such a difference, as merely checking that a user has been present (have they read, have they posted) is difficult enough but also monitoring "have they been replied to" becomes impossible. It is this last point that I find especially difficult in the very large forums I moderate (up to 3000 learners) as choosing to participate or not is one issue, but feeling ignored an entirely different one. Do you have anything you can use to flag posts that haven't attracted a response within a given time period?

Paige, I don’t have a tool – maybe because I don’t like tools to monitor or moderate?
There’s the group of learners who should reply to each other …. and I expect that a lot will depend how the first days will work. If the learners will feel recognized and appreciated.
Next week I will know how it works🙂

[…] Pauschenwein, Jutta. “Moderating the cope14 MOOC“. […]

Schreibe einen Kommentar

