ZML Didaktik / Innovative Learning Scenarios

Concluding #oped12 MOOC

Posted on: November 11, 2012

Today I want to reflect and close my participation of the „Openess in Education 2012“ MOOC.

Compared to my participation in the Change11 MOOC I didn’t participate very actively in this MOOC, I wrote only a few posts and at the end I dropped out.

Why didn’t I succeed to engage into this MOOC as I did in the case of the Change11 MOOC?

1. Personal time table

In fact I didn’t have a lot of time for the MOOC as September and October are the most intensive months in my work (a lot of conferences and classes). Therefore I outlined a framework for my activities in my first post – I wanted to check 5 of the 7 modules and to  be active in 4 of them. As I wrote 4 posts about the content of the oped12 MOOC I fulfilled a part of my plan.

2. Organization of the MOOC

From an organizational point of view I was unsatisfied with this MOOC:

  • I missed a clear timetable with the information about what topics in what week –  there is the course outline but without dates.
  • And the homepage of the oped12 MOOC doesn’t show the actual week but only the page where learners can register.
  • So when I wanted to deal with the content of the MOOC I had to check in the actual week. I tried to use the oped12-url adding f.e. week5.html – and it seemed to work – but starting with week7 the web-pages had an old date, f.e. http://open.mooc.ca/week7.htm has the date February 28 – March 7, 2011.
  • I looked for information about the actual week at twitter, but there weren’t any tweets about the weeks… Therefore I was never sure if the content I was looking at was the right content, which was rather annoying.
  • Because of my time restraints I didn’t read the Daily Newsletter every time and therefore I discovered rather late that George posted the week’s information every Monday as for example in http://open.mooc.ca/archive/12/11_05_newsletter.htm.
  • At the begin of the oped12 MOOC I decided not to use the discussion forum – maybe all relevant information was posted there? In the Change11 MOOC there were a lot of activities online and so I got the information about the weeks‘ topics in twitter, in blog posts, at the Change11 website.
  • Furthermore there were planned activities in twitter once a week at a special time – but as there was no international time schedule …. I missed that as well.

3. No community of learners?

In the Change11 MOOC during the weeks there were many interesting postings, I got insights into the work of other participants, I loved to read aspects of  the week’s topic written from different perspectives and I founded my own small network of other learners – via reading, writing and commenting. I appreciated the ideas of the other learners as much as the experts‘ input.

In the oped12 MOOC there were some interesting postings in the first weeks and there started a short exchange via comments. But these activities disappeared quickly and I felt „left alone“. I looked forward to read many postings about OER material in Module 4 – Searching for resources – because I never had time and motivation to do a quick surview. But there weren’t any discussions about the recommended collections of material – or at least I didn’t find them. In this phase I dropped out of the MOOC.

Conclusion

I didn’t take the time to understand how this MOOC worked (discussion forum, twitter dates, Monday’s Newsletter) – and there were not enough online activities to help me. Based on my choice of tools I didn’t receive enough relevant information and therefore my motivation dropped.

After these experiences of two MOOCs I understand more clearly what I need to get engaged in a „cMOOC“. I will use this experience for my choice of the next MOOC.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

