ZML Didaktik / Innovative Learning Scenarios

Ideas and sneaky feelings around the Merlot: Call for Papers – Special Issue MOOCs

Posted on: Oktober 17, 2012

Since Georg tweeted the Merlot: Call for Papers – Special Issue MOOCs yesterday I’m excited and nervous and doubtful. Should I write an extended abstract about my experiences in the Change11 MOOC ? Would it be interesting for others? Is my pragmatic approach and my focus on transfer and changing, further developing courses, making learning a pleasant, interesting, demanding, democratic, playful, open (?) experience valid for the MERLOT Journal of Online Learning and Teaching (JOLT)?

And what about my English … as my mother tongue is German. Furthermore I’m living in this small European state Austria and my first open course was dedicated to learners in the region of Styria… no worldwide learners of different nationalities but more or less local guys and girls who were terrified by the challenge of an open course but nevertheless reflected that they had learned something.

As I’m lion-hearted I grabbed the bull by the horns (not sure if this phrase exists in English as well) and wrote about 500 words expressing my enthusiasm for MOOCs and the Change11 MOOC in particular (I love looooong learning experiences, actual MOOCs only last some weeks which is not long enough in my opinion). I addressed my „sensemaking“ in the MOOC quoting Weick and Wenger (you can find some posts around their theories in this blog) and finished with the „moderation“ issue – one of my online identities is „online moderator“ and I’m meditating about the function of moderation in a MOOC in the last year and until now.

But are these considerations valid for the extend? What do you think? What would you write? I’m really curios who else is excited and nervous and doubtful about his or her submission of an abstract. And I would be happy to get hints how to improve my abstract🙂

Schlagwörter:

4 Antworten to "Ideas and sneaky feelings around the Merlot: Call for Papers – Special Issue MOOCs"

Dear Jutta,
from all what I know you are the one and only in my closer reach who dealt with the mooc experience from the very beginning on. You sticked to the change11 mooc and earned my biggest appreciation about it. You constantly published about it and you even put up an own mooc promoting open learning in people who until then didn’t even know what to do with that as a theoretical idea, not to speak of really putting that into practice. I am definitely convinced that here in Austria you are the one to talk about moocs.
And since a mooc by itself is designed as an OPEN course it is also truly GLOBAL (a notion not enough thougth about until now), therefore it should really be INTERCULTURAL or at least conceived as something incorporating intercultural thinking and intercultural minding. In my opinion, thinking moocs further could and should also mean to develop them out of their native environment in California and the USA. I’d say, go ahead and share your experience. Please do so. Your experience in moocs is big enough and your styrian mooc experience might be the one important mosaic stone adding up to a truly intercultural mooc development. LG

Dear Gudrun!

Thank you for your encouragement🙂

Jutta

Hallo zmdidaktik http://markmcguire.net/ does write about participants who are collating and curating their thoughts and the work of others who this course enabled them to connect to.
I am only participating in MOOCs by commenting and reacting and writing blogposts and will not write an article. But moderating and collaboration amongst participants is an important issue that needs a lot of thinking. In most MOOCs this commenting and reacting is regarded as an extra, where in my view it is a very important (the most important) way of connecting knowledge and participants, and a real strong way of learning.

Hi jaapsoft,
great link, I like it!
For me the commenting and reacting is the core of a cMOOC, what else should it be? Connectivism is about nodes and connections … isn’t it?
As I appreciate your posts I would happily read your article, maybe you wanto to think again about submitting an abstract?
jupidu

Schreibe einen Kommentar

