ZML Didaktik / Innovative Learning Scenarios

Reflections and useful links in the oped12 MOOC

Posted on: Oktober 16, 2012

As the Openess in Education MOOC is proceeding I’m only reading a bit of the material and thinking about it. For me it is a very different MOOC with respect to the Change11 MOOC with less interaction and less instruction as well – no online sessions (or I haven’t checked them), few blog postings, few tweets, and I miss a table linking the weeks to the actual date (as my browser doesn’t show the actual week, I have to type the url itself f.e. http://open.mooc.ca/week6.htm).

Nevertheless I’m learning „something“ and I’m collecting useful links. F.e.:

  • OER Handbook for Educators 1.0 – as I’m thinking about creating a e-book I will check this handbook
  • Thoughts on Big and Little OER – I like this blog post of the Cheshire Cat where he states that „Re-use of other people’s materials has been happening since the first scribes were marking clay tablets in ancient Mesopotamia … So I don’t see why academics should be unduly concerned about openly reusing others’ work“.
  • In his blogpost Small is beautiful – jaapsoft2 writes that „just Open Access to educational resources is not enough“ and that „small OER could quick and easy be adapted by others“.

Furthermore I’m reading many posts and articles about MOOCs itself.

Schlagwörter:

5 Antworten to "Reflections and useful links in the oped12 MOOC"

Less interaction and fewer blog posts may be due to #CFHE12 running more or less concurrently. Stanford/Venture lab #DNLE may also be drawing off possible participants. As a project in comparison, I am trying to follow all three and not managing that at all well. On the upside, I’ve already collected links and made new connections from/in all three. If I can keep my insanity, it may be worth it.

So far, most current mooc blogging is reblogging and commenting more than posting.

Interesting – the same happened last year: I attended the Change11 MOOC and on January activity dropped because Georg opened the next Connectivism MOOC. On the one hand I was seduced to skip Change11 and start with the Connectivism MOOC – on the other hand I wanted the whole Change11 experience – so I continued with the Change11 MOOC and was happy about it.

How do you succeed to follow all three courses??

How? I ask myself the same question and remind myself what Stephen Downes says about moocs and connectivist learning: take what you need/what interests you, make and follow connections. Don’t try to get everything and don’t worry about what you miss.

It’s hard to resist trying to look at *everything* and I think it is important to try to take in as much as possible at the beginning. Otherwise, you just might miss that one point or connection you are here for (whether you know it or not). That is hard to manage when courses start at or close to the same time.

My main focuses are access for self-paced continuing or community based education and higher education labor, specifically non-tenured. Changes in delivery models, unbundling learning and assessment/credits and access will affect them in different ways. I would like to see both groups take charge of their learning, in one case, and, in the other case, teaching (professions). That may not be realistic but the more I learn about process and options, the better.

________________________________

I agree. The lack of interaction, instruction, and no online sessions puzzles me. Your blog post is listed in the Mooc. There is one „comment“ field there. But why would I use that when only a short introduction to the post is displayed in the Mooc? I guess I shall copy this comment into the Mooc. Peculiar.

I don’t use the comment field in the MOOC … but I liked your Content Mind Map🙂 http://blogg.hioa.no/tengel/files/2012/09/OpenContentMindMap_MOOC_Tengel.png – maybe I should use Vue as well.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

