ZML Didaktik / Innovative Learning Scenarios

My booth in the BEtreat 2012

Posted on: August 3, 2012

To document the learning processes the Wengers are using a huge WIKI and all groups have their virtual room in the WIKI. In my case there are the WIKI for the social reporters (leadership group), the reading group and the thematic group: adult pedagogy. Furthermore each person has her or his personal booth to „online represent my context, project, stakeholders, challenges ….“ and a learning journal  „to reflect and summarize what I’am learning (or not)“.

Last night Bev mentioned that the booths of the online participants are more refined than the booths of the f2f participants which doesn’t surprise me, as we „onliners“ have the a lot of time during the day to collect and reflect, as the training starts at 17:00.

Yesterday I build on my booth, I tried to focus and name my challenge.

My experience with „closed“ online courses

  • Password protected virtual room for small groups
  • Gilly Salmon 5 stages: Access and motivation – Online socialization – Information exchange – Knowledge building – Development
  • Many different topics (e-moderating, …)
  • Approach used for the last 10 years, it always worked!
  • Important phases: Online socialization – building trust – negotiating identity as course members AND Information exchange – negotiating vertical power, everybody is expert for something!
  • If these phases work well participants start to build common knowledge and value their shared experiences!

My passion: concepts as in Change MOOC 2011

  • Massive open online course “facilitated” by Stephen Downes, George Siemens, Dave Cormier
  • Connectivism  Knowledge = networked and distributed, being connected in complex and chaotic environments, aided by technology
  • Connectivist principles for the MOOC: aggregate – abundance of material on website; remix – work with ideas, materials, create something new; repurpose – reflect! use it for in your own contexts; feed forward – share your ideas, reflections, learning process

My challenge

How to combine the benefits of the design of closed courses to open ones?

  • How can we get trust in an open course?
  • How do we socialize?
  • What is my role as moderator?

My questions for BEtreaters

  • What was necessary to get to know each other? What was missing?
  • What did we negotiate in this Betreat? ( a little bit unspecific, but …)
  • How did Bev and Etienne as moderator facilitate / hinder group building?

About answers … sound was not ideal … in California it was very hot … and in Europe it was after midnight …. Etienne mentioned that in the last years they used a world cafe to negotiate expectations at the beginning of the BEtreat. Duncan: the move into really small groups is key to getting „in“.

Nevertheless it was challenging to do a presentation without being able to check if the others are on the same slide as I was🙂 And after my questions I saw vivid speaking but I didn’t hear anything. So being an onliner means less spontaneity!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

