ZML Didaktik / Innovative Learning Scenarios

Talk talk (Monday in the BEtreat)

Posted on: Juli 31, 2012

What a coincidence that I’m reading Talk talk of T.C. Boyle in these days and participating online in Wengers‘ BEtreat.

In Boyle’s book one of the the main characters, Dana, is deaf – and she observes people talking – and understands about 25% (she reflects that it is not clear how much a deaf person can understand via reading lip movements as many sounds of the human voice are so similar).

Yesterday as online participant I felt a little bit as Dana, often I could observe people speaking but I didn’t hear / understand it.

The  screenshot shows the coffee break where the f2f participants assembled at the border of the camera view – they were chatting and laughing – and I was observing, happy to lay down my headset, and excluded.

As online participant (after the first hours of participating) I have no feeling for the group. There should be 16 participants – but are there ever 16 persons active yesterday? Were there 8 persons online, in skpye?

In our first „day hello round“ every participant could speak about how he or she got to the BEtreat. This round was lost on me as I wasn’t seeing who talked.

When we online participants went to bed (about 1:00 in the morning) the f2f participants started with a barbecue. So they know each other better now. I intend to  „collect“ BEtreaters, and I’m curios how many of them I will know better tonight.

Schlagwörter:

2 Antworten to "Talk talk (Monday in the BEtreat)"

Hi Jutta – earlier this year I worked on the CPsquare Foundations of Communities of Practice Workshop as a mentor – see http://cpsquare.org/edu/foundations/ – fully online and one of the participants, Mel Chua, was completely deaf – she writes about it in her blog here – http://blog.melchua.com/2011/11/01/my-first-experience-with-cart/

Mel was an inspiration. She was incredibly technically proficient, which meant that she was able to use her knowledge to her advantage. She also was so comfortable in her own skin (or it seemed that way to me) that she knew exactly how to work as a deaf person in an online course of hearers.

For the live sessions she had a note taker and we could see and add to these notes. She also typed her questions into the chat and she was an incredibly fast typer.

For groupwork we used Skype chat which was also fast and furious.

It opened my eyes as to what is possible and I learned a lot from Mel. I’m sure lots of it was frustrating for her, but she didn’t say so. She was very patient!

Jenny

Ok, Jenny – so we practice „being patient“ as well – in our community of practicing patience during online trainings🙂

Schreibe einen Kommentar

