ZML Didaktik / Innovative Learning Scenarios

Slow learning in Florence

Posted on: Dezember 11, 2011

Finally I have time to formulate my ideas circling in my head since Clark Quinn asked me: “what would my ideal learning situation be?”

My first idea was that the MOOC is nearly an ideal learning situation for me:

  • I don’t like closed learning spaces and the MOOC is open.
  • I love my freedom to choose interesting topics and to skip others – and in the MOOC nobody forces me to read / discuss / think about everything. (By the way I try to give this freedom to my students as well but as they want to get good grades usually they don’t use this freedom).
  • I’m always looking for new ways of thinking to leave my “personal restrictions” in thinking behind me and in the MOOC I’m getting many new perspectives.
  • I like the exchange with others – and the participants of the change MOOC give me the opportunity of exchange.
  • I’m curios of other learners and how they deal with today’s challenges of learning and in the MOOC I can observe other learners.
  • I’m looking for new ideas with respect to eLearning and the experts and participants of the MOOC are sharing their ideas with me.
  • Reflecting Clark’s ideal learning space I don’t want to have a personal mentor – I have kind of “many mentors” in the MOOC which makes the exchange exciting.

But I’m struggling with my information management – which I see in relation to Clark’s personal GPS for my knowledge work.

It’s knows where you want to go (since you told it), and it knows where you are geographically and semantically (via GPS and your calendar), and as it recognizes the context it can provide not only support in the moment, but layers on learning along the way.

Learning through this MOOC a lot of ideas are swirling in my head – how to connect insights of my learning process into my lectures, my online courses, how to use them for our next eLearning conference, for the next scientific paper, ….

I need time and a good organisation of my ideas, the context within the MOOC, the papers and blog posts –  and I don’t have enough time and I don’t have a good approach to organizing my ideas. And when I’m discussing this issue with my colleagues they are struggling as well.

So I agree wholeheartedly with Clark when he writes:

we don’t know really how to look at things this way yet; we don’t have design models (to think about the experience conceptually), we don’t have design processes (to go from goal to solution), and we don’t have tools (to deliver this integrated experience). Yet the limits are not technological; we have the ability to build the systems if we can conceptualize the needed framework.

Anybody out there having further ideas how to deal with this challenge?

1 Response to "Slow learning in Florence"

Hallo Jupidu, thanks for the nice post .
Maybe in http://mooc-step-through.wikispaces.com/ you will find some answers on information management in a MOOC?
And if not you could perhaps edit the page of the wiki?

Schreibe einen Kommentar

