ZML Didaktik / Innovative Learning Scenarios

Discussion about the MOOC design

Posted on: November 29, 2011

Jon Dron suggest a reputation management system within the MOOC or some collective-based filtering solutions in his thoughts about the MOOC with the intention to add more structure and to help participants with the „almost unfiltered stream of stuff“ produced via participating in the MOOC. (thanks to Jenny Connected who guided me to this post).

Gulia Forsythe answered in her comment to Jon’s post, that she is using „her own content filtering system“ via following people on twitter, reading blogs, following the #change11 but she „still has a nagging sense that she is missing something“.

Stephen Downes – as (technical) facilitator of the MOOC – contradicts Jon by writing that systems for filtering or reputation management (which could  be easily implemented) would conflict with his intention with the design of this MOOC. Each participant should have maximal choice how to interact in this MOOC, pulling out individual contributions would create a „single view“ onto the MOOC.

Stephen’s ingredients for the MOOC are:

  • an open, connected, interactive design
  • which provides focus via attractors, parcelation, personalization and
  • stimulates actions as signs and symbols, loyalty, campaigns, progress indicators

As I’m very satisfied with the change MOOC I want to ask if these ingredients are relevant for me?

  • I’m enjoying the open, connected, interactive design – including the time table with the possibility of skipping weeks if necessary, returning to interesting topics, sometimes focussing on the experts and sometimes focussing on the ideas of the other MOOC participants
  • Structure, experts, colleagues attract me and furthermore the world „around“ the MOOC (hints to blogs, books, slides outside the MOOC). The parcellation of „work“ in the different weeks give me focus – whereas the personalization within the MOOC website doesn’t help me to focus (maybe there are some features I’m still missing?).
  • The aspect of stimulating action is the most difficult in my opinion: until now I didn’t notice any signs and symbols, campaigns, progress indicators? And speaking of loyalty – I’m enjoying posts and comments of other participants and I have the feeling to get to know them, maybe I’m feeling a little bit loyal to the MOOC as whole.

2 Antworten to "Discussion about the MOOC design"

Great post, jupidu. I believe reputation is alive and well in this #change11 mooc without having to ‚manage‘ it. Eek, the idea of managing reputations makes me very uncomfortable. The professional reputations of our facilitators and weekly guest speakers are easy to identify through their online presence and weekly actions. The reputations of participants are also easy to find in terms of their visibility on The Daily, synchronous sessions, blog comments to others and so on. I believe the biggest thing I learn in a mooc is how to filter *for myself* and that’s hard and messy but vitally important as a digital literacy skill. http://brainysmurf1234.wordpress.com/2011/11/29/if-you-dont-like-messy-learning-dont-play-in-the-snow/

Hi brainysmurf!
Yes, it would be strange to be kind of „graded“ in the MOOC and I wouldn’t like to be „integrated“ into learning groups.
Furthermore I reflected Stephens mention of „Homophily“ which in my understand means that we are looking for „similar“ persons to which exchange and get in contact. So are we not benefitting of the great diversity of MOOC participants? At least I’m following people living out of Europe and not speaking German, so a little bit of diversity is assured.
Bye, jupidu
Bye the way: I loved your „snow“ foto – this year until now there’s no snow in Austria….

Schreibe einen Kommentar

