ZML Didaktik / Innovative Learning Scenarios

Criticism of MOOCs

Posted on: Oktober 6, 2011

Interesting … checking twitter I have followed a link to Tech Therapy: Episode 88: Why Universities Should Experiment With ‘Massive Open Courses’

I didn’t listen to George Siemens case for why colleges should experiment with inviting tens of thousands of students to participate in their courses free online – BUT some comments affected me:

  • If 10,000 students are taking the same course …This isn’t „education.“ (juris_prudence)
  • Faculty should resist this movement at every turn. (mmullins)
  •  I am overwhelmed by the noise and clatter and a feeling that I am not in fact deepening or broadening my understanding of the particular topic the MOOC is dealing with (bernardjsmith)
  • Seems like just one more way to „protect“ teaching from teachers (Bradley William Bleck)
  • Given the choice between a Massive Open Course and a textbook that teaches the exact same material, I think I would opt for the textbook (archman)

I’m enjoying the MOOC and I think it would be a great experience for students. As brainysmurf writes in his/her blog:

I wonder if our mooc experience will give us opportunities to influence the formal systems to let the self-regulation and explorer spirit flourish among all learners again?

It seems there will be  long way to go to change formal education.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

