ZML Didaktik / Innovative Learning Scenarios

Who will come to my MOOC party?

Posted on: Mai 17, 2012

The Change 11 MOOC – the mother of all MOOCs – is ending.

And I want to aks you all, outside there in the virtual world:

  • What did the Change MOOC change in your (professional) life?
  • How did you survive in these 35 weeks?
  • What were your personal highlights of the MOOC?
  • What do you plan for the future concerning MOOCs?
  • And – how long will we use the change11-tags to remain connected??

What did the Change MOOC change in my (professional) life?

I developed and executed the first “open” training course: WLL-Netzwerkaufbau (using Google+). Together with my colleagues we adapted the MOOC cow to the ZML MOOC cow and this cow is the symbol for our next eLearning conference, where the topic MOOC will play a mayor role. In our eLearning conference I will speak about “Welche Rolle spielt die Moderation in offenen Online-Kursen?” – “What is the role of moderation in open online courses?” and I will try to connect my experiences of the moderation of closed online courses to the experiences of the MOOC and my open training course. – And we started with the ZML-Leseclub (Journal Club) and enjoyed reading and discussing interesting topics.

How did I survive in these 35 weeks?

Hmm, I survived probably because I’m old-fashioned. In January as many co-learners changed to the Connectivism MOOC the idea of changing seduced me as well. But normally I finish what I have begun and so I stayed in the Change MOOC. I’m kind of “persistent”. And now I’m happy because I have the “whole” Change MOOC experience :-)

What were my personal highlights of the MOOC?

Without reading the MOOC schedule again (and checking all the topics and experts’ names) I got new ideas and insights of:

  • Martin Weller’s pedagogy of abundance – I enjoyed reading some chapters of his book “The digital scholarship”
  • Nancy White’s week about art in the MOOC unsettled me a lot. I reflected on “being creative”, I accepted the “creative parts” in my work and as part of my competences.  And I was very happy about her hint to Etienne Wenger’s concept of the Social Artist. From a conceptual point of view for me this week was one of the most important weeks in the MOOC.
  • The weeks about OERs were interesting and I’m following the development of open courses worldwide and reflecting what it could mean for our university.
  • The last week about virtual identities was inspiring, and I want to return to read the literature.
  • And of course I learned a lot about MOOCs, read many articles about connectivism, reflected and discussed our way of learning together, wrote many posts about it. I was very impressed and I enjoyed reading papers, looking at slides, listening to interviews of Stephen Downes, George Siemens and Dave Cormier.
  • The most impressive post of my co-learners was brainysmurf’s post about her puppy in it’s first experience of snow. I enjoyed the discussions and feedbacks of Apostolos K. ‏and jaapsoft2.

What do I plan for the future concerning MOOCs?

I’m happily looking forward to an interesting workshop week with Etienne and Beve Wenger “Academic Betreat” about social learning theory. From 30. July to 3 August I will participate online, mainly synchronous participation, and I’m very very curios how it will work.

And of course I will participate in the next Connectivism MOOC (anybody knows when it will start??).

And – how long will we use the change11-tags to remain connected??

I’m not sure about the answer. I expect to use and to look for the tag during the next months but probably at some time in the future we will stop using it when other tags become more relevant.

3 Antworten to "Who will come to my MOOC party?"

[…] Jupidu asked these questions on her blog. What did the Change MOOC change in your (professional) life? How did you survive in these 35 weeks? What were your personal highlights of the MOOC? What do you plan for the future concerning MOOCs? And – how long will we use the change11-tags to remain connected?? Rate this: Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Good questions ~ my own situation is different (aren’t all ours?). I want to draw on these to develop my own, which I have in mind to use as a springboard to explain MOOCs to the uninitiated in both community and ed-related networks.

With Gordon’s blessing, maybe a cow too. If I were better with graphics, I’d come up with a MOOC pony but New Mexico is part of the mythic West and still ranching country.

A MOOC pony would be nice :-)

Kommentar verfassen

Folgen

Erhalte jeden neuen Beitrag in deinen Posteingang.

